Ranting about DPSers

December 10, 2007

Hey, that’s right- I remember something about “Write a post a day.”
Huh.
Apparently, I meant “At least a post a month.” Yeah. Yeah… when I said Day, I was using the old hebrew phrase that was translated in the modern English Bible as Day, in genesis… and has caused all kinds of confusion. But yeah, that’s a topic for another blog.

Today’s topic of choice? Over-DPSing idiots/noobs/newbies.

Saturday I went on a couple of runs (Ramps, mostly- we were farming a set of pants for a guildie.)
With us we had a mage who ran threat meters but completely ignored them, and a rogue that didn’t have them even though he’d been told to get them dozens of times. The mage was PROUD that “There are very few tanks that are able to keep up with me.” WTF? Since when was causing wipe after wipe because the healer had to blow ALL her mana healing the idiot mage who refused to stop pulling aggro? I can hold threat, but it’s rather difficult to do so at 66 when an epiced-out 70 refuses to watch his DPS… /sigh
The Rogue, my brother-in-law, has been doing PVP in the Arenas constantly, and so has a hard time in instances- but he’s certain he’s awesome, because he “[puts] out a HELL of a lot of DPS!” I’ve tried, his sister has tried, but even though he insists he knows, he doesn’t seem to grasp the fact that he has to control his DPS until the tank has enough threat, and to not stunlock the tank’s target, since the tank might want a little rage during the fight…

/whining

In other news, I finally hit 66, and am very much enjoying the extra threat that Lacerate gives me… although I think I’m going to have to put together a macro for focus/lacerate, so I can maintain threat against 2 mobs easily (hopefully I won’t need more, but for 4-or-more, CC-free pulls… eh; I can spam swipe for that.

One Response to “Ranting about DPSers”

  1. Manatank Says:

    Don’t let them get you down. An epiced-out 70 mage that is running regular ramparts is probably doing so because no decent level 70 group would let them into a party. DPSers that pull agro on a consistent basis are poor players. It is as simple as that.

    Pulling agro here and there on accident is one thing, but bragging about being able to pull agro off of a tank is inane. Most good DPSers should be able to pull agro if they wanted to, but why would they do that? The only real skill in playing a ranged DPS class is not pulling agro. If they don’t want to watch their threat, then perhaps they should try running with out a tank at all, because their behavior negates the advantage of having one.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

